WLA Award Winners Announced

World Landscape Architecture opened the call for entries in late 2016 for the inaugural WLA Awards with entries being received from all over the world in early 2017. The standard of entries was of such a high quality that the judging had to be extended for shortlisting the final entries.

It is with great excitement that World Landscape Architecture can announce that the jury of the WLA Awards have submitted their judging sheets and we have collated the results to determine the winners in each category.

There are four categories in the WLA Awards with the winner receiving the Award of Excellence and the runner-up receiving the Merit Award. The Editor of WLA also awards the Editor’s Award for one project also deserving of an award . It is with great pleasure that winners of the WLA Awards for 2017 are announced as follows:

Award of Excellence
Chicago Riverwalk – Phase 2 & 3
Sasaki and Ross Barney Architects

Merit Award
TE ARA I WHITI – Light Path
LandLAB + Monk McKenzie

Award of Excellence
Soul of Norrebro

Merit Award
The New St. Pete Pier
Rogers Partners, ASDISKY, Ken Smith Workshop

Award of Excellence
The Floating Gardens of Tonle Sap

Merit Award
Why we love trees

Award of Excellence
Is ‘Green’ the right way to environmental degradation? Reviewing issue of shelterbelt plantation die-off in northern China’s marginal landscape
Cathy Doa

Merit Award
Reclamation of Whitesands quarry
Tianyi Jiang

EDITOR’S AWARD (Editor – Damian Holmes)
Sydney Park Water Re-Use Project
Turf Design Studio & Environmental Partnership

Congratulations to all the winners who will receive their awards in May. The WLA Award winners along with a selection of the finalists will be featured in the next special edition of WLA Magazine.

World Landscape Architect would like to thank all entrants for participating in the inaugural WLA Awards and their support of WLA.

WLA would also like to thank the jury for their dedication and time in judging the Awards. The Jurors included:

Martin Barry – Founder & Chairman, reSITE;  Co-Founder & CEO, City Crew
Martin is a landscape architect, the Founder and Chairman of reSITE, an international nonprofit organization exchanging ideas for more lovable and livable cities.
Kimberly Garza – Founder, ATLAS Lab
Kimberly Garza is Founder and Director of ATLAS Lab, an urban design studio focused on enlivening and promoting healthy communities through landscape architecture and art.
Andrew Grant, Founder & Director, Grant Associates. RDI, CMLI, Hon FRIBA, FRSA.
Andrew is a Landscape Architect whose work explores the connection between people and nature and he formed Grant Associates in 1997 to test the creative possibilities of sustainable landscape architecture and ecological placemaking.
Jason Ho, Initiator of Mapping Workshop, China and a Founding Director of Urban Informality Lab
Jason Ho is the initiator of Mapping Workshop, China and a Founding Director of Urban Informality Lab, Melbourne. Jason has taught and practiced at a large number of universities and design firms in both Australia and China.
Mark Johnson FASLA, Principal, Civitas
Mark Johnson co-founded Civitas since has led the design of nearly $1 billion in built works. He is a recognized thought leader in the regeneration of inner city, brownfield and industrial areas.  Foremost among these is his leadership of planning and design for regeneration of Denver’s Stapleton International Airport.

The WLA Awards will call for entries for the 2018 WLA Awards in October 2017. 


About Damian Holmes 3313 Articles
Damian Holmes is the Founder and Editor of World Landscape Architecture (WLA). He is a registered landscape architect (AILA) working in international design practice in Australia. Damian founded WLA in 2007 to provide a website for landscape architects written by landscape architects. Connect on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/damianholmes/