ASLA announces the 2019 Honors recipients

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is proud to announce the 2019 Honors recipients. Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. Honors will be presented at ASLA’s annual President’s Dinner during the Conference on Landscape Architecture in San Diego, CA this November.

In addition, ASLA is proud to announce the induction of six honorary members in 2019. Honorary membership is among the greatest honors ASLA may bestow upon non-landscape architects in recognition of notable service to the profession. Since its inception in 1899, ASLA has inducted only 231 honorary members.

The ASLA Medal: 
Carol Franklin, FASLA

The ASLA Design Medal: 
Douglas Reed, FASLA

Community Service Award – Individual: 
Kimberlee Douglas

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: 
Dr. Lee-Anne Milburn, FASLA

The LaGasse Medal – Landscape Architect Professional: 
Julie Hensley, ASLA

The LaGasse Medal – Non-Landscape Architect Professional: 
Sally Jewell

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: 
Heritage Landscapes LLC

The Medal of Excellence: 
Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF)

The Olmsted Medal: 
Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (RI)

Thomas Bradshaw
Candace Damon
Daniel Martin
Kitty Stoner
Tom Stoner
Marc Treib

Find out more at the ASLA website

About Damian Holmes 3233 Articles
Damian Holmes is the Founder and Editor of World Landscape Architecture (WLA). He is a registered landscape architect (AILA) working in international design practice in Australia. Damian founded WLA in 2007 to provide a website for landscape architects written by landscape architects. Connect on Linkedin at