ASLA 2023 Honors recipients announced

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced its 2023 Honors Recipients. ASLA’s board of trustees selects the honorees and represents the most noteworthy landscape architecture practitioners and firms nationwide.

“The 2023 ASLA honorees are changing the world through their approach to landscape architecture—and their work is needed now more than ever,” said ASLA CEO Torey Carter-Conneen. “In the face of increasingly dangerous weather events and biodiversity stressors, our honorees are using their diverse array of talents to design and create a healthier world and more equitable future for all people. 

2023 ASLA Honors Recipients:

  • The ASLA Medal: Patricia O’Donnell, FASLA, Heritage Landscapes, LLC
  • The ASLA Design Medal: James Corner, FASLA, James Corner Field Operations
  • The Community Service Award: Jim Donovan, FASLA
  • The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Sadik Artunç, FASLA, Mississippi State University, Department of Landscape Architecture
  • The LaGasse Medal — Professional: Charles A. Flink II, FASLA, Greenways Incorporated
  • The LaGasse Medal — Nonprofessional: Steven N. Handel PhD, Hon. ASLA, Rutgers University 
  • The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: Biohabitats
  • The ASLA Medal of Excellence: Jack Dangermond, Esri
  • The Olmsted Medal: The Cultural Landscape Foundation
  • The ASLA Emerging Professional Medal: Abigail Reimel, ASLA
  • Honorary ASLA Members:
    • Senator Patrick Leahy
    • Chelina Odbert
    • Alciblades Tsolakis
    • Jared Green
    • Diana Ferguson, Esq.
    • Kristopher Pritchard
    • Devon Henry
    • Gilbert Holmes

The eight honorary members inducted by ASLA are non-landscape architecture professionals recognized for their notable service to the profession. Since its inception in 1899, ASLA has inducted only 255 honorary members.

“The ASLA honorees are the best of the best and represent what is possible in the field of landscape architecture. This is the highest recognition ASLA bestows each year,” said ASLA President Emily O’Mahoney, FASLA. “This year’s recipients join a rarified group; we celebrate and congratulate another standout class of honorees on their well-earned recognition.” 

For details about each honoree, visit:

Image Credits:

  1. Patricia O’Donnell, FASLA – Image Credit: Hitesh Mehta
  2. James Corner, FASLA – Image Credit: Jake Chessum
  3. Devon Henry – Credit: Devon Henry
  4. Sadik Artunc – Credit: Kelli Jacobs, MSU Extension Service
  5. Steven N. Handel PhD, Hon. ASLA – Credit: Nick Romanenko, Rutgers University
  6. Jack Dangermond
  7. Charles Birnbaum – Credit: The Cultural Landscape Foundation
  8. Abigail Reimel – Credit: Katrina Poggio
  9. Jared Green – Credit: Roxanne Blackwell
  10. Diana Ferguson – Credit: Kira Derryberry
  11. Chelina Odbert – Credit: Kounkuey Design Initiative
  12. Gilbert Holmes – Credit: Gilbert Holmes
About Damian Holmes 3313 Articles
Damian Holmes is the Founder and Editor of World Landscape Architecture (WLA). He is a registered landscape architect (AILA) working in international design practice in Australia. Damian founded WLA in 2007 to provide a website for landscape architects written by landscape architects. Connect on Linkedin at