2022 LAF Medal and Founders’ Award Recipients announced

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) is delighted to announce the 2022 recipients of its LAF Medal and Founders’ Award. These two annual awards are LAF’s highest honors, recognizing individuals and firms or organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement and enhancement of the environment. The honorees will be recognized at the LAF Awards Dinner on June 2 in Washington, DC.

2022 LAF Medal Recipient: Elizabeth J. Kennedy, FASLA

Elizabeth J. Kennedy, FASLA

Elizabeth Kennedy’s work intersects cultural heritage and ecological sustainability. An exceptional leader, visionary, and entrepreneur, she has been an advocate for social change, a teacher, and a mentor for young professionals, women, and BIPOC designers throughout her career.

“In addition to great, sustainable landscapes that embody place and culture, Elizabeth has provided pro-bono and in-kind support to critical works, mentored dozens of students and young professionals, and advocated for diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout her career.” – LAF Medal & Founders’ Award Committee

2022 LAF Founders’ Award Recipient: The Nature Conservancy

The Nature Conservancy (TNC) is the world’s largest conservation organization, working in 76 countries and territories and in every state across the US. TNC has over one million members and has protected more than 125 million acres of land worldwide.

“Along with its extensive conservation and restoration activities, The Nature Conservancy is spearheading efforts to promote nature-based solutions to address climate change and inequity.” – LAF Medal & Founders’ Award Committee

More about the winners and past award recipients can be found at: https://www.lafoundation.org/laf-medal-and-founders-award

About Damian Holmes 3292 Articles
Damian Holmes is the Founder and Editor of World Landscape Architecture (WLA). He is a registered landscape architect (AILA) working in international design practice in Australia. Damian founded WLA in 2007 to provide a website for landscape architects written by landscape architects. Connect on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/damianholmes/