World Architecture Festival Awards shortlist announced

The World Architecture Festival celebrates its tenth edition in Berlin in November this year, with the 2017 awards programme receiving more entries than ever before – 924, increasing by 18% from the 2016 awards. The awards shortlist revealed today is a truly international collection, extending to include architectural practices from 51 different nations and projects based across 68 countries. The 2017 Award shortlist for the World Architecture Festival has been announced.


  • AECOM, Oxygen Park, Doha, Qatar
  • Cox Architecture, Willinga Park, Bawley Point, Australia
  • Dangar Group and Black Beetle, Cleveland & Co, Sydney, Australia
  • IAW, Noble Ploenchit, Bangkok, Thailand
  • ONG&ONG, Yishun Nature Park, Yishun, Singapore
  • P Landscape, Garden of the Mind , Berlin, Germany
  • Shma Company, Mapletee Business City II, Singapore, Singapore
  • Studio Evren Başbuğ Architects, Bostanlı Sea Square, İzmir, Turkey
  • STX Landscape Architects, Oasia Downtown Hotel, Singapore, Singapore
  • Turenscape, Peasants and their Land: The Recovered Archaeological Landscape of Chengtoushan, Lixian County, China

Presentations of shortlisted designs will be made to more than 100 international judges. The 2017 completed buildings ‘Super Jury’ which will decide the best of 18 category winners, will be headed by Robert Ivy, chief executive officer of the American Institute of Architects and former editor of Architectural Record; Nathalie de Vries, Director & Co-founder of Dutch practice MVRDV; Ian Ritchie, founder of London-based Ian Ritchie Architects; Christoph Ingenhoven, founder of German practice Ingenhoven Architects; and Wong Mun Summ, founder director of Singapore practice WOHA.

Shortlisted entrants will compete for category prizes on the first two days of the three-day Festival, which will take place in Berlin on the 15, 16 and 17 November 2017. On the final day, category winners will present again to ‘super-juries’ of experienced and respected judges, who will decide on the World Landscape, Future Project and Completed Building of the Year Awards.

See the full shortlist of all categories (architecture – built/future, best use of colour and small projects) at the WAF website

2023 WLA Professional Awards registrations close on Friday, March 17, 2023, at 11:59pm London, UK.
About Damian Holmes 5671 Articles
Damian Holmes is the Founder and Editor of World Landscape Architecture (WLA). He is a registered landscape architect (AILA) working in international design practice in Australia. Damian founded WLA in 2007 to provide a website for landscape architects written by landscape architects. Connect on Linkedin at