What are the WLA Awards judging criteria?

The World Landscape Architecture Awards will be assessed by five jurors in the following categories:

– Built Design Award
– Conceptual Design Award
– Research & Communications Award
– Student Award (Design or Research)

Jurors will also be requested to assess the winners of four categories and award the Landscape Architecture Award (highest award).

The Editor also reserves the right to select one project that they deem to be the winner of the WLA Editor’s Award.

World Landscape Architecture will collate the entries into one PDF for each category.
The Jurors will be requested to assess the project using the following judging criteria:

  • Design (quality, clarity, value, sensitivity)
  • Innovation (design and technical, sustainability)
  • Implementation/Execution (overall result, robustness)

Each of the three criteria will be scored out a maximum of 10 points for a total of 30 points per entry.

If less than required minimum submissions are received for any category then no awards will be awarded in that category.

Find out more about How to Enter your landscape architecture project in the WLA Awards. 


2023 WLA Professional Awards registrations close on Friday, March 17, 2023, at 11:59pm London, UK.
About Damian Holmes 5664 Articles
Damian Holmes is the Founder and Editor of World Landscape Architecture (WLA). He is a registered landscape architect (AILA) working in international design practice in Australia. Damian founded WLA in 2007 to provide a website for landscape architects written by landscape architects. Connect on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/damianholmes/