The inaugural WLA Awards launched

WLA Awards

It is with great excitement we launch the inaugural WLA Awards. Over many years we have published thousands of projects online and in WLA Magazine and we thought that it was time to launch our own awards to honour landscape architects around the world for their outstanding work. The annual World Landscape Architecture Awards seeks to recognise outstanding work and promote the profession across the world. The Awards endeavour to recognise innovative work (conceptual and built) by landscape architects.

World Landscape Architecture seeks to provide the opportunity for landscape architects from all countries to be recognised on the world stage by their profession.

Projects can be entered in the following Award categories:

  • Built Design Award
  • Conceptual Design Award
  • Research & Communications Award
  • Student Award (Design or Research)

The Editor also reserves the right to select one project that they deem to be the winner of the WLA Editor’s Award.

For each each category will be awarded their will be an Award of Excellence (only 1 per category) and a Merit Award (only 1 per category)


All landscape architects who are members of landscape architecture organisations (AILA, ASLA, CSLA, LI, HKILA, IFLA, ILASA, NZILA, MLAA,  etc)  or who have graduated (in the past year) from or currently studying in landscape architecture at university are eligible to enter the World Landscape Architecture Awards. Students must provide a copy of their student ID details – Name, University, Student Number/Identifier to confirm their eligibility. Any client or organisation who wishes to enter a project must have written permission from the landscape architect or design firm.

Jurors and Employees of WLA Magazine & World Landscape Architecture or associated companies are ineligible to enter.

November 22 – Awards opened
February 17 – Submissions close at 11:59pm (Honolulu time)
March 12 – Shortlisting of Entries
April 10 – Winner Announced


WLA is very proud to announce the five world renowned jurors who have experience in working in different parts of the world as landscape architects and designers.


Martin Barry – Founder & Chairman, reSITE;  Co-Founder & CEO, City Crew
Martin is a landscape architect, the Founder and Chairman of reSITE, an international nonprofit organization exchanging ideas for more lovable and livable cities. He is also the co-founder and CEO of City Crew, a creative consultancy for cities and real estate investors.

Kimberly Garza – Founder, ATLAS Lab
Kimberly Garza is Founder and Director of ATLAS Lab, an urban design studio focused on enlivening and promoting healthy communities through landscape architecture and art.

Andrew Grant, Founder & Director, Grant Associates
Andrew is a Landscape Architect whose work explores the connection between people and nature and he formed Grant Associates in 1997 to test the creative possibilities of sustainable landscape architecture and ecological placemaking.

Jason Ho, Initiator of Mapping Workshop, China and a Founding Director of Urban Informality Lab
Jason has taught and practiced at a large number of universities and design firms in both Australia and China. Jason serves on Expert Advisory Committees of several international organizations

Mark Johnson, Principal, Civitas
Mark Johnson co-founded Civitas since has led the design of nearly $1 billion in built works. He is a recognized thought leader in the regeneration of inner city, brownfield and industrial areas.

Find out more about the Jurors

How to Enter
Award Entries will be submitted digitally in A3 or 11×17 format using the WLA Awards template (received via download).

A maximum of 4 single side pages A3 or 11×17 will be submitted containing the following information on the provided template:

1. a maximum of 350 words of text

2. up to 10 images (diagram or photography)

Your Entry is to be submitted to the Entry thje email address as shown in the Submission Directions and Template that you will receive as an email download after you have purchased an Award entry.

Entry Fees
A single entry to one WLA Award category (multiple entries and entries into more than one category require purchase of additional entry fees)

$99USD – after December 31, 2016

A single entry into the Student Award is

$25USD – after December 31, 2016

Payment is by credit card or paypal through the WLA Shop.


If you have any questions please contact the Editor – [email protected]

About Damian Holmes 5735 Articles
Damian Holmes is the Founder and Editor of World Landscape Architecture (WLA). He is a registered landscape architect (AILA) working in international design practice in Australia. Damian founded WLA in 2007 to provide a website for landscape architects written by landscape architects. Connect on Linkedin at