2018 WLA Awards


The annual World Landscape Architecture Awards seeks to honour landscape architects around the world for their outstanding work and promote the profession across the world. The Awards endeavour to recognise innovative work (conceptual and built) by landscape architects. World Landscape Architecture seeks to provide the opportunity for landscape architects from all countries to be recognised on the world stage by their profession.


Jurors will be requested to assess entrants in the following four (4) categories:

– Built Design Award – Small Scale – eligible entries are built project that are under 1,000 square metres (approximately 10,700 square feet)

– Built Design Award – Large Scale – eligible entries are built project that are over 1,000 square metres  (approximately 10,700 square feet)

– Conceptual Award – eligible entries are any non-realised or soon to be realised design

– Student Award – eligible entries are Design or Research projects that were completed during an undergraduate or graduate degree.

Entries should have been completed between January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2017.

The Editor also reserves the right to select one project that they deem to be the winner of the WLA Editor’s Award.

Jurors will also be requested to assess the winners of four categories using three criteria and score points. The highest scoring project will be awarded the Award of Excellence and the second highest will receive a Merit Award.


Each category will be awarded the following

– Award of Excellence (only 1 per category) – receive a plaque and full feature in WLA Awards Magazine.

– Merit Award (only 1 per category) – receive an award and published in WLA Awards Magazine.


All landscape architects who are members of landscape architecture organisations (AILA, ASLA, CSLA, LI, HKILA, IFLA, ILASA, NZILA, MLAA,  etc)  or who have graduated (in the past year) from or currently studying in landscape architecture at a university are eligible to enter the World Landscape Architecture Awards.
Students must provide a copy of their student ID details – Name, University, Student Number/Identifier to confirm their eligibility.

Any client or organisation who wishes to enter a project must have written permission from the landscape architect or design firm.

Jurors and Employees of WLA Magazine & World Landscape Architecture or associated companies are ineligible to enter.


November 20 – Awards open

February 16 – Submission DEADLINE is 11:59pm – HONOLULU TIME (GMT -10)

March 12 – Shortlist Announced

April 10 – Awards winners published online and in a WLA Award Magazine.


WLA is very proud to announce the five world-renowned jurors for 2018, who have experience in working in different parts of the world as landscape architects and designers.

Cheryl Barton, FASLA, FAAR, is the Founder and Director of O|CB Studio in San Francisco, USA
Cheryl leads the firm in the planning and design of revitalization strategies for urban and ecological systems – green infrastructure, parks and public places, institutional campuses, and water-edge landscapes.

Isabel Zempel, ASLA is a Principal at Sasaki in Watertown, USA.
Isabel has led the design of high profile projects around the world, including award-winning civic and cultural landscape work in the United States, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East.

Nadia Amoroso, PhD, ASLA is a faculty member at the University of Guelph, Department of Landscape, School of Environmental Design and Rural Development.
She was the Lawrence Halprin Fellow at Cornell University and the Garvan Chair Visiting Professor at the University of Arkansas. She holds a PhD from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, London,  and degrees in Landscape Architecture and Urban Design from the University of Toronto.

Peter Chmiel CMLI, is a Director of Grant Associates in Bath, UK
Peter has over 30 years’ experience in landscape architecture his particular interest is the promotion of design quality and technical innovation through the synergy of landscape, architecture, nature, community, and place.

Simon Morrison MSILA, is Director of ICN DESIGN LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS in Singapore.
From both public and private sectors across the globe, seeing through the implementation of numerous public realm, residential, commercial, tourism, and master-planning projects provides Simon with valuable insights and experience in the value of landscape across different climates, cultures and conditions.

Entry Fees

The entry fees shown are per entry – purchase through the links below or at the WLA Shop

Built Design Award – Small Scale  $100USD

– Built Design Award – Large Scale  $100USD

Conceptual Award – $100USD

– Student Award – $25USD

Payment can be made via Visa, Mastercard, AMEX, Paypal and Alipay 支付宝

Submission Rules

All entries must use abide by the following rules:

  1. Use the Award Template (a link is provided in the invoice email) and abide by the submission guidelines (text, format, credits, etc)
  2. Entries shall be submitted by the deadline
  3. Student entries can include group work (all students must be listed on the entry) – only one entry required per group entry
  4. The entrants must own the copyright to the text and images (including photography). Entering a submission in the WLA Awards is proof that you own the copyright.
  5. Any Built Award entry submission that includes altered or doctored photography (using photo editing software beyond the adjustment of light, contrast or color) will be disqualified. e.g. Removing or adding items such as plants, grass, water, lights, buildings, cars, etc. All disqualifications for altered photography will be made public.
  6. All rules (they have changed from 2017 Awards) relating to image size, words, captions, etc are provided in the WLA Awards Information.pdf along with the Award Template(idml, eps, jpg) – Download links to these documents will be in your invoice email.

WLA looks forward to receiving your entries.

Warning: array_filter() expects parameter 1 to be array, string given in /home/worldla/worldlandscapearchitect.com/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce-memberships/includes/frontend/class-wc-memberships-posts-restrictions.php on line 925

Warning: array_unique() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in /home/worldla/worldlandscapearchitect.com/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce-memberships/includes/frontend/class-wc-memberships-posts-restrictions.php on line 1013