2018 WLA Awards – Call for Submissions

2018 WLA Awards

Following on from the successful 2017 WLA Awards, World Landscape Architecture is opening the Call for Submissions for the 2018 WLA Awards. The annual World Landscape Architecture Awards seeks to honour landscape architects around the world for their outstanding work and promote the profession across the world. The Awards endeavour to recognise innovative work (conceptual and built) by landscape architects. World Landscape Architecture seeks to provide the opportunity for landscape architects from all countries to be recognised on the world stage by their profession.

WLA has made some changes the Award categories for 2018 based on feedback from last year entrants and judges. There are now 2 Awards for Built Design – Small Scale (under 1,000 square metres)and Large Scale(over 1,000 square metres). The Conceptual and Student Awards categories remain the same.  Entries should have been completed between January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2017. Each category will be awarded an Award or Excellence and a Merit Award.

Important Dates

November 20 – Awards open

February 16 – Submission DEADLINE is 11:59pm – HONOLULU TIME (GMT -10)


WLA is very proud to announce the five world-renowned jurors for 2018, who have experience in working in different parts of the world as landscape architects and designers.

Cheryl Barton, FASLA, FAAR, is the Founder and Director of O|CB Studio in San Francisco, USA
Cheryl leads the firm in the planning and design of revitalization strategies for urban and ecological systems – green infrastructure, parks and public places, institutional campuses, and water-edge landscapes.

Isabel Zempel, ASLA is a Principal at Sasaki in Watertown, USA.
Isabel has led the design of high profile projects around the world, including award-winning civic and cultural landscape work in the United States, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East.

Nadia Amoroso, PhD, ASLA is a faculty member at the University of Guelph, Department of Landscape, School of Environmental Design and Rural Development.
She was the Lawrence Halprin Fellow at Cornell University and the Garvan Chair Visiting Professor at the University of Arkansas. She holds a PhD from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, London,  and degrees in Landscape Architecture and Urban Design from the University of Toronto.

Peter Chmiel CMLI, is a Director of Grant Associates in Bath, UK
Peter has over 30 years’ experience in landscape architecture his particular interest is the promotion of design quality and technical innovation through the synergy of landscape, architecture, nature, community, and place.

Simon Morrison MSILA, is Director of ICN DESIGN LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS in Singapore.
From both public and private sectors across the globe, seeing through the implementation of numerous public realm, residential, commercial, tourism, and master-planning projects provides Simon with valuable insights and experience in the value of landscape across different climates, cultures and conditions.

Entry Fees

– Built Design Award – Small Scale  $100USD

– Built Design Award – Large Scale  $100USD

– Conceptual Award – $100USD

– Student Award – $25USD

For information about the Eligibility, Submissions and more go to 2018 WLA Awards http://worldlandscapearchitect.com/wla-awards/