2014 AILA National Awards announced

National Arboretum Canberra Masterplan | Image Credit - JohnGollings
National Arboretum Canberra Masterplan
| Image Credit – John Gollings

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) National Awards has announced the 2014 National Awards with with Taylor Cullity Lethlean (TCL) winning the Australian Medal for Landscape Architecture. The AILA National Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding achievements and contributions in design, planning, urban design, land management, research and communication and residential landscape architecture.

TCL took home six awards, including the coveted Australian Medal for Landscape Architecture for their planning of National Arboretum in Canberra with Tonkin Zulaikha Greer and Urban Design National Award of Excellence with BKK Architects for their work on Dandenong’s coveted Lonsdale Street Redevelopment.

Greg Grabasch of Western Australian based landscape architecture firm UDLA, won the National President’s Award for his work on a unique documentary entitled WA Women in Landscape Architecture.

Prince Alfred Park and Pool by Sue Barnsley Design, Neeson Murcutt Architects and City of Sydney was recognised for its reinvigoration of this public space in Sydney with a National Award for Design.

The National Awards, held on October 17, at the AILA’s Forecast Festival of Landscape Architecture, which celebrated Australia’s most innovative landscape architecture projects and ideas between 16 and 18 of October in Brisbane.

The Jury was made up of well-respected built environment professionals Adrian Pilton, Lorrae Wild, Catherine Keirnan and Shane Thompson.

Adrian Pilton, AILA Awards Jury Chair, said the standard of this year’s entries was incredibly high, and TCL’s planning of National Arboretum was a compelling example of a landscape architecture project making a significant impact both within the industry, and on the Australian public. Mark Frisby, AILA National President, also paid homage to Greg Grabasch, of UDLA, who won the National President’s Award.